Attendance at Disciplinary Inquiries of the Medical Council during the period from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2016

Total Number of Hearing Days of Disciplinary Inquiries = 37

	No. of attendance	
Prof. LAU Wan-yee, Joseph, SBS (Chairman)	16	(see Remark (1a) below)
Dr Hon Pierre CHAN	9	(see Remark (2) below)
Dr CHAN Yee-shing	0	(see Remark (2) below)
Miss CHAU Man-ki, Mabel, MH	12	(see Remark (1d) below)
Dr CHENG Chi-man	5	
Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming	6	
Dr CHEUNG Tak-hong	3	(see Remark (1b) below)
Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel	0	(see Remark (1b) below)
Dr CHOW Pak-chin, JP	2	(see Remark (3) below)
Ms CHOY Hok-man, Constance	13	(see Remark (1d) below)
Director of Health	0	(see Remark (4) below)
Deputy Director of Health	2	
Prof. FOK Tai-fai, SBS, JP	0	(see Remark (1c) below)
Dr HO Chung-ping, MH, JP	1	
Dr HO Hung-kwong, Duncan	3	
Dr HO Pak-leung	6	
Dr HUNG Se-fong, BBS	5	
Dr IP Wing-yuk	9	
Dr LAM Tzit-yuen, David	8	
Dr LAU Chor-chiu, GMSM, MH, JP	1	
Ms LAU Wai-yee, Monita	4	(see Remark (1d) below)
Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu	6	
Dr LI Tak-lai, Theresa	2	
Prof. Felice LIEH-MAK, GBS, CBE, JP	19	(see Remark (1a) below)
Prof. TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP	0	(see Remark (5) below)
Dr TSE Hung-hing, JP	1	
Dr TUNG Sau-ying, Nancy, MH	1	
Dr WONG Yee-him, John	4	
Mr YU Kwok-kuen, Harry	8	(see Remark (1d) below)

- (1) The Medical Registration Ordinance stipulates that both the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Preliminary Investigation Committee ("PIC") shall not attend disciplinary inquiry into a case of which they have taken part in the preliminary investigation. The same applies to all Members (including the Lay Members) of the PIC.
 - (a) Prof. Joseph LAU was the Chairman of the PIC on or before 6 March 2012 and therefore cannot attend the disciplinary inquiries into those cases of which he had taken part in the preliminary investigation. Prof. Felice LIEH-MAK has been elected as the Temporary Chairman of the Council in such disciplinary inquiries.
 - (b) The term of office of Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel as the Chairman of the PIC ceased on 16 May 2016 after chairing the PIC meeting. Dr CHEUNG Tak Hong was the Chairman of the PIC from 1 June 2016 onwards.
 - (c) Prof. FOK Tai Fai is the Deputy Chairman of the PIC.
 - (d) All Lay Members are required to serve the PIC on a rotational basis.
- (2) Dr Hon Pierre CHAN was appointed as the Member of the Medical Council with effect from 24 January 2016 for 3 years to replace Dr CHAN Yee Shing.
- (3) The Chairman of the Health Committee ("HC"), Dr CHOW Pak Chin, has refrained from taking part in all disciplinary inquiries from 12 July 2016 onwards, so as to keep himself untainted to preside in subsequent HC proceedings (if any) related to the defendant doctors.
- (4) The Director of Health does not take part in disciplinary inquiries as she is also the Registrar of Medical Practitioners who is responsible for maintaining the General Register and Specialist Register.
- (5) The Chairman of the Education and Accreditation Committee ("EAC"), Prof. TANG Wai-king, Grace has refrained from taking part in all disciplinary inquiries, so as to keep herself untainted to preside in subsequent EAC proceedings (if any) related to the defendant doctors.