Attendance of Council Members at Disciplinary Inquiries of the Medical Council during the period from 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022

A total of 40 disciplinary inquiries involving 48 hearing days were conducted in 2022.

Member	No. of Inquiry(s)	No. of Hearing Day(s)	Remarks
Prof. LAU Wan-yee, Joseph, SBS (Chairman)	13	15	1&2(a)
Mrs BIRCH LEE Suk-yee, Sandra, GBS, JP	6	6	2(g)
Dr Pierre CHAN	1	1	
Dr CHAN Tin-sang, Augustine	3	4	
Mr CHAN Wing-kai	8	9	2(g)
Dr CHAN Yee-shing	2	4	
Dr CHENG Chi-man	-	-	2(e)
Dr CHEUNG Chin-pang	4	3	2(g)
Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming	1	1	
Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel	10	10	1&2(b)
Prof. CHOW Yat-ngok, York, GBS, MBE	4	4	
Dr CHOW Yu-fat	4	3	
Dr CHUNG Kin-lai	3	5	
Director of Health	-	-	3
Prof. FOK Tai-fai, SBS, JP	-	=	2(c)
Dr HO Hung-kwong, Duncan	2	2	
Dr HO Pak-leung, JP	4	4	
Ms HUI Mei-sheung, Tennessy, MH, JP	6	5	2(g)
Mr HUNG Hin-ching, Joseph	7	8	2(g)
Dr IP Wing-yuk	3	8	2(d)
Mr LAM Chi-yau	2	5	2(g)
Dr LAU Chor-chiu, GMSM, MH, JP	3	3	
Dr LEE Wai-hung, Danny	-	-	2(f)&(g)
Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu	3	3	
Ms LI Siu-hung	5	9	
Dr LUNG David Christopher, MH	2	2	2(g)
Dr MAK Siu-king	3	3	
Prof. TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP	12	15	1
Mr WONG Hin-wing, Simon, MH	3	3	2(g)
Dr YEUNG Hip-wo, Victor	2	5	
Members whose tenure started in 2022			
Dr MARCET Marcus Mitchell (membership from 24 June 2022 onwards)	-	-	
Ms LIU Lai-yun, Amanda (membership from 1 September 2022 onwards)	1	1	
Members whose tenure ended in 2022			
Prof. WONG Yung-hou, MH (membership ended on 31 August 2022)	2	2	2(g)

(Note: As some inquiries were held on more than one day, the number of inquiries and the number of hearing days attended by individual members may differ.)

Remarks:

- With the enactment of the Medical Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 2018 ("Amendment Ordinance") on 6 April 2018, which provided for, inter alia, the appointment of inquiry panels for disciplinary inquiries by the Council, Prof. LAU Wanyee, Joseph, Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel and Prof. TANG Wai-king, Grace have been Chairpersons of inquiry panels since 6 April 2018, 5 July 2019 and 9 July 2020 respectively.
- According to section 21(4A) of the Medical Registration Ordinance, the following Council Members (as denoted with remarks in the table), who had either served on (i) the former Preliminary Investigation Committee ("PIC"), i.e. the PIC established under the pre-amended Medical Registration Ordinance, which is also deemed as PIC ("deemed PIC") after enactment of the Amendment Ordinance on 6 April 2018; or (ii) the Preliminary Investigation Committee (1) ("PIC(1)") (previously titled as the "new PIC") / the Preliminary Investigation Committee (2) ("PIC(2)") established in accordance with section 20BA(2)(d) of the Medical Registration Ordinance after the enactment of the Amendment Ordinance on 6 April 2018, should not attend disciplinary inquiries in respect of the cases in which they had taken part during the preliminary investigation:
 - (a) Prof. LAU Wan-yee, Joseph, who was the Chairman of the PIC from 8 February 2006 to 6 March 2012.
 - (b) Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel, who was the Chairman of the PIC from 7 March 2012 to 16 May 2016.
 - (c) Prof. FOK Tai-fai, who was the Deputy Chairman of the PIC from 2 February 2000 to 5 April 2018 and the deemed PIC from 6 April 2018 to 12 February 2019, and has been the Chairman of the deemed PIC since 13 February 2019.
 - (d) Dr IP Wing-yuk, who has been the Deputy Chairman of the deemed PIC since 13 February 2019.
 - (e) Dr CHENG Chi-man, who has been the Chairman of the PIC(1) since 5 September 2018.
 - (f) Dr LEE Wai-hung, Danny, who has been the Chairman of the PIC(2) since 4 February 2021.
 - (g) Members of the deemed PIC / PIC(1) / PIC(2).
- 3 The Director of Health, being also the Registrar of Medical Practitioners responsible for maintaining the General Register and Specialist Register, does not take part in disciplinary inquiries.